Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Sean tutors in Norfolk, VA

Sean F.

Private tutor in Norfolk, VA

Education

Attended Granby High School 2008-2012 with a GPA of 3.35. Attended Bridgewater College 2012-2015 with a major in Applied Physics. Cumulative GPA was 3.30. Transferred as a junior to Old Dominion University Spring 2016 to obtain a degree in Mechanical Engineering.

Experience

I have experience in volunteering as a tutor at Granby High School. Have testing experience with the SAT three times with a high score and ACT once with a score of 20, and AP test in Geography and Government. The classes I have taken include Robotics, AP Physics 1, Hon Chemistry, AP Human Geography, AP Language, Principals of Technology 1-2, Algebra 1-2, Geometry, Statistics, and Pre-Calculus. I have also won One silver award at the National Robotics Challenge. The relevant classes I have taken at Bridgewater College include General Physics 1 and 2, General Chemistry 1 and 2, College Algebra, Calculus 1,2,3 and 4, Modern Physics, and other history and writing courses. I have expert experience in writing scientific papers and lab reports. I have competed in 3 university physics competitions and held one internship at MAERSK Line for analysis and Engineering. I want to be a tutor to help people who are struggling Academically and provide information to make life easier in school. I've had it difficult through school, having to teach myself the material most of the way rather than being tutored. I personally know how hard it can be to have low motivation to study for certain material. Sometimes teachers only teach and explain material a certain way, and that way may not be the way some kids understand. All information can be taught with a different approach, its a matter of finding and creating your way to an understanding that you comfortable with.

Availability

Saturday at any time, Sunday at any time, Any day in the evening

Can Meet

Up to 20 minutes away for no additional charge, Up to 30 minutes away for a flat fee

Hobbies

I like to play and volunteer in Tennis. For the past 3 years I have coached tennis to adults and kids above age 7. I personally believe that taking care of the environment is crucial and support the "going green" initiative. My interests lie in building models mostly cars, ships, rockets, and spacecraft basically anything I like no matter the difficulty I will attempt it, reading and learning about space, playing video games mostly strategy games, general and technical drawing, and studying. I love learning new things about technology especially our motivation to achieve a human settlement on Mars. I aspire to one day become an astronaut. Whether that happens or not I plan to work on the vehicles and craft that go into space. As you can guess I am a science fiction enthusiast: what was once known as science fiction is now emerging in reality and will continue to for as long as a passion for curiosity exists.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!