Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Michelle tutors in Norfolk, VA

Michelle P.

Private tutor in Norfolk, VA

5Michelle P.

4 reviews

Education

Crrently, I have two engineering degrees completed (BS and MS) and am working on my Ph.D. in Applied Mathematics. School: Old Dominion University Degree: Applied and Computational Mathematics GPA: 4.0 Status: Currently enrolled School: Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University Degree: Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering Concentration: Electromechanical and clean energy applications in manufacturing, vehicle systems, and robotics Graduation Date: May 2012 GPA: 4.0 Graduation Honors: With Distinction School: Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University Degree: Bachelor of Science in Aerospace Engineering Concentration: Astronautics Minor: Mathematics Graduation Date: May 2010 GPA: 3.226 Graduation Honors: Honors Program

Experience

I have over 9 years of tutoring experience and 2 years of teaching experience!! While an undergraduate student at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University (ERAU), I spent the majority of my time tutoring my peers. During my sophomore years and junior years, I tutored for the Freshman Engineering department for two different programming courses (C and MATLAB). As a senior, I began tutoring for various mathematics classes ranging from lower-level Algebra to upper-level Calculus and Differential Equations. During my time as a graduate student, I tutored both mathematics and physics courses. Overall, I have spent 5 years employed by the university as a student tutor for math, physics, and programing courses. In addition to working for the university as a tutor, I have also worked privately. I began work as a private tutor while in high school when I began tutoring 7th grade math. I have continued working with high school level mathematics while tutoring my younger sisters and their friends as they have progressed through their education. Within the past seven years, I have also privately tutored several different students enrolled at ERAU, University of Central Florida, and several different community colleges. Privately, I have tutored the following subjects: Algebra I and II, Pre-Calculus, Calculus I and II, and Algebra-based Physics. As for my teaching experience, I was a Graduate Teaching Assistant (GTA) for the ERAU Mathematics Department while I worked to obtain my master’s degree. As a GTA, I taught mathematics courses for students enrolled in Beginning and Intermediate Algebra. I was responsible for coordinating lesson plans, administering self-made tests and quizzes, and holding office hours each week. I also responded to student tutoring needs, and provided supplemental tutoring. I served as a GTA for four semesters (Fall 2010, Spring 2011, Fall 2011, and Spring 2012) and had a high level of success. Post-graduation, I began working for Florida State University (FSU) as a tutor for their Athletics Department. While employed with FSU, I developed a strong ability to both mentor and teach student-athletes on a one-on-one basis. As I worked with each student, I determined his/her specific needs and geared my instruction towards the techniques which would foster the best environment. I succeeded in improving each of my student’s grades and helped them to develop a better understanding of their coursework. I also gained a sense of how to work with students from different educational backgrounds and time constraints, i.e. students that traveled every week for team competition. I have now worked for FSU for a year and have tutored the following subjects: Algebra I and II, Calculus I – III, Practical Finite Math I and II, Business Calculus, Physics I and II (Algebra and Calculus based), Pre-Calculus, and Computer Programming. I also obtained my CRLA Training Certification in November 2012. As for my testing, I obtained the highest PSAT score in mathematics at my high school in both 10th and 11th grade. On my SATs, I earned a 760 in math and on my GREs, I earned a 750 in math. Also, while enrolled in AP Calculus in High School, I earned a 4 on the AP exam. While in school (undergraduate and graduate), I enrolled in the following courses: Calculus and Analytical Geometry II (grade: A), Calculus and Analytic Geometry III (grade: A), Differential Equations and Matrix Methods (grade: A), Mathematical Methods for Engineering and Physics I (grade: B), Probability and Statistics (grade: A), Boundary Value Problems (grade: A), and College Math for Aviation (grade: A).

Availability

Tues/Thurs after 5PM, Friday after 4PM, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I feel that I have the passion to teach and educate that you are looking for. I love seeing students succeed in both the classroom and outside lives. I once had a student, while working as a Teaching Assistant, who struggled with the material and would come to see me almost daily during my office hours. His grades improved ever-so-slightly throughout the semester and when it came time for the final test, he finally earned an A. Nothing can compare to the look on his face when I gave him back his test; it was truly awe inspiring. It is the little moments like that one that drive me to inspire and teach and do more for the student. I truly feel that I was put on this Earth to study and teach math and to develop those skills in other people. I love to learn just as much as I love to teach so much so that I occasionally Skype with my graduate math professor to learn other forms of math that I had not studied while at school. He sends me notes, teaches me different concepts, and assigns me homework and tests. I do this all voluntarily because I want to study the subject and learn as much as possibly can! As for my hobbies, I like to do just about anything. I love being outside hiking with my husband, running with my dog, or even just to feel the warmth of the sun. I grew up in New Jersey and so I absolutely love being in the warm weather down here in Florida. I enjoy playing sports; hockey and swimming are my favorites! While in college, I obtained my Private Pilot’s license, and although I haven’t flown in a while, I do love being up in the skies. I also enjoy SCUBA diving, cooking (baking mostly!!), and watching movies. My husband and I are BIG movie fanatics and enjoy watching as many as we can during our free time.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!