Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Emily tutors in Norfolk, VA

Emily H.

Private tutor in Norfolk, VA


I am currently working toward my MFA in English (Creative Writing) at Old Dominion University. I earned my BA in Photography and Arts Integration (through the early childhood education program). I graduated Magna Cum Laude with a GPA of 3.8. While in undergrad I also studied at Griffith College in Dublin, Ireland where I studied primarily writing, literature, and management. Although I've chosen to focus on English/Art related fields I have always been a well rounded student. Throughout elementary- high school I was consistently on the honor roll and enrolled in honors and AP courses. I graduated high school with an advanced diploma and a 3.9 GPA.


I have spent the past year tutoring in the Old Dominion University Writing Center. I work with undergraduate-Ph.D students on all aspects of the writing process. While living in Chicago I worked with the Museum of Contemporary Photography as their educational outreach intern as well as with After School Matters (a nonprofit) aimed at working with underserved youth throughout the city. Our goal (and mine) was/is to provide students an equal opportunity to grasp each subject matter by individualizing their educational experience. I believe that every child's strengths/interests should be nourished and encouraged. I have taken education based courses in both undergrad and graduate school. I have also nannied/worked in preschools for the past 7 years. During my time working with children (especially the individual families I have worked with) I have helped foster their learning and assisted with their homework. I want to tutor because I love to teach and I love to teach because I love to learn. Throughout my life some of the most enriching experiences I have had have been teaching and learning from my students. I have a passion for learning that I've been told is contagious and I want to help students find that same passion.


Weekends at any time, Friday at any time, Thursday after 2PM, Monday in the morning, Tuesday after 7PM, Wednesday after 7PM

Can Meet

Up to 1 hour away at my regular hourly rate, Up to 30 minutes away for no additional charge


I enjoy traveling and take every opportunity to explore new places. In addition to photography and writing I am an avid reader. I also enjoy watching movies and a handful of tv shows. In my spare time I like to craft and embark on DIY/home improvement projects. I played soccer for almost 15 years and still live an active lifestyle. I play in co-rec sports leagues, hike, and spend a majority of my time outdoors. I am also a sports fanatic and keep up with my favorite football, baseball and hockey teams. (Especially during football season my Sundays are spent as an over-enthusiastic fan.) Overall, I am a very fun-loving, outgoing person and I have an active social life. I take every opportunity to meet new people.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor


Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!