Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Michelle tutors in Norfolk, VA

Michelle W.

Private tutor in Norfolk, VA


Bachelor of Arts in Liberal Arts from St. John's College of Annapolis, a Great Books program school. Currently attending ODU for Mechanical/Aerospace engineering.


I've tutored most children I've cared for in the past, kids aging from kindergarten age through high school. I understand that every child is different and has their own learning style. At St. John's, I learned to be an active listener, to be someone who understands the same topic from many different points of view, and to be able to voraciously pick apart any text. Since the program was all primary sources, we only could use what was in front of us to try and understand the topic at hand. Our only help was each other! I think this unique approach to education has made me equally uniquely suited to being a tutor. I'm compassionate, but willing to push students to fulfill their own potential. I received a 5 on the AP Calculus AB exam, a 5 in AP Art, a 2050 on the SAT, and a 33 on the ACT. I graduated 8th in my high school class of 2008 out of 500 graduates. At St. John's my GPA was a 3.4 (grades were highly subjective), and I currently have A's in Chemistry and Calculus 2 at ODU.

Subject Expertise


Weekends at any time, Tues/Thurs in the afternoon, Mon/Wed/Fri in the morning

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away for a flat fee, Up to 20 minutes away at my regular hourly rate, Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge


I love to garden - it's one of the only hobbies where you get a real return on your investment! I also love to cook, especially with local fruits, meats, and vegetables. I have made kids eat their vegetables happily and I can cook vegetables your kids will enjoy too! (And I'll give you the recipe!) I'm learning how to bake as well, cookies are now in the repertoire as well as pound cake. If all else fails, studying is made better with cookies and milk! I'm an avid reader, if you couldn't tell by my choice in undergraduate study, and I've been known to read 700 page books in two days.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor


Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!