Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Alyssa  tutors in Norfolk, VA

Alyssa H.

Private tutor in Norfolk, VA


The College of William and Mary Education Specialist Degree, School Psychology Masters of Education Degree, School Psychology Cumulative GPA: 3.87 University of Delaware Bachelor of Arts Major: Psychology and Cognitive Science Minor: Human Development


I have years (and years!) of experience as a tutor and mentor. From volunteering as a peer mentor all the way back in middle school, to studying psychology, learning, and cognition as an undergraduate, and earning my Master's and Educational Specialist degrees in School Psychology, I have gained invaluable experience, knowledge, and skills to work with students from various backgrounds with a realm of educational needs. I intend to dedicate my career as a school psychologist to maximize the success of each and every student I am granted the opportunity to work with. Becoming a University Tutor would serve as a pivotal platform to do just that! Relevant coursework from undergraduate and graduate work include: -Language Development and Reading for the Exceptional Child -Instructional Design -Characteristics and Accommodations for Students with Mild/Moderate Disabilities -Characteristics and Adaptations for Students with Developmental Disabilities and Autism -Neurospychological Bases of Learning and Behavior -Classroom Management -Cognition -Psychology of Language -Cultural Diversity, School, and the Teacher -Cognitive Neuroscience -Adolescent Development -Applied Behavior Analysis -Brain & Behavior As a school psychology intern, I work with students at the elementary, middle and high school levels. I work with students to determine their individual educational needs, and how to best meet those needs in and out of school. I work with teacher, administrators, and parents alike to design interventions for academic and behavioral concerns. I promote mental health and wellness through individual and small group counseling. Additionally, I am the coach for the Girls on the Run program at my elementary school.


Any day after 3PM, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away for no additional charge, Up to 5 minutes away for no additional charge


I am very active- I love to run and do yoga. I also recently joined a Crossfit gym, which has been an exciting new challenge both mentally and physically. I love any kind of live music, and enjoy spending time outside with my dogs whenever I can. I LOVE to read and spend much of my free time browsing the Barnes and Noble bookshelves for potential new reading adventures.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor


Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!